It’s hard to think of a good title for this post. Not posting an update about our move and life has literally been waking me up at night so I just need to do it! I am not great at journaling or blogging consistently and I like stories with an ending so this will be the last post to kind of close out our tornado chapter. I know that things will still come up related to this part of our life, but with the move and previously mentioned reasons, this will be it!

I think one of the reasons I struggle to find an ending is because we continue to feel so grateful for the love and support we had showered on us during this time. I hate to say all the ways people have helped us because I am afraid I would miss someone! Most of the clothes we still wear were donated in those first days, the toys that are our favorites were given to us and I haven’t bought toilet paper until just recently (the donated toilet paper lasted us just as long as we were at our rental, can you believe it?). I guess the reason I say this is because I want you to know how much your support has helped us make it through that time. We are just so thankful!

So what have we been up to? Well, we moved! Like I had stated in previous posts, we absolutely love our new home. We did some cosmetic updates to the house but we had lots of help that allowed us to make it happen in a fairly short timeframe. We are thankful! Following are a few pics of the last month:

Our closing with Uncle Curt and Aunt Beth

Our closing with Uncle Curt and Aunt Beth

 

Move in day with the help of a World Relief group

Move in day with the help of a World Relief group

 

Doing some decorating!

Doing some decorating!

Drew's first day of kindergarten and Landry's first day of preschool

Drew’s first day of kindergarten

Landry's first day of preschool

Landry’s first day of preschool

Wesley loving on the kittens (or squishing depending on which way you see it)!

Wesley loving on the kittens (or squishing depending on which way you see it)!

 

Loving this generous gift from a friend :)

A generous gift from a friend 🙂

Loving the summer and our new life!

Loving the summer and our new life!

Loving the summer and our new life!

Loving the summer and our new life!

 I am sure there is a scripture that would be fitting for this occasion and the last blog post, but what keeps running through my head is this poem.  Thank you again for your love, support and prayers on our behalf.  This experience has taught us much about loving others, showing genuine concern, pressing into the hurt of others and many other things that we are just blessed to have learned and hard to express.

 Footprints in the Sand, by Mary Stevenson

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.
Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.
In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.
Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,
other times there were one set of footprints.

This bothered me because I noticed
that during the low periods of my life,
when I was suffering from
anguish, sorrow or defeat,
I could see only one set of footprints.

So I said to the Lord,
‘You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you,
you would walk with me always.
But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life
there have only been one set of footprints in the sand.
Why, when I needed you most, you have not been there for me?’

The Lord replied,
‘The times when you have seen only one set of footprints in the sand,
is when I carried you.’

 

Love, the Hodel Family

 

