We have had a lot of people asking about our house situation and wanted to put an update out there for our faithful friends, supporters and random blog readers. To cut to the chase, we do have a house! It is hard to put into words the feelings that we have about this fact. It is a miracle, a dream, something that is just amazing, and I will do my best to describe it.

There is a house that has been in the family for many years that we have always loved. The house is an old farmhouse that has been carefully maintained over the years and we love it. It has old barns, pasture and really great old trees. In the days following the tornado, Kev approached his aunt and uncle about the house. I think our interest was a total shock to them! They were amazing though and committed to pray about it and talk with their family about it. Have you ever asked someone to do something that is really and truly great? For instance, if you knew someone that had lived in their house for nearly half a century and asked them to move, do you think it would be an easy thing? We discovered that, wow, Uncle Curt and Aunt Beth (and their kids too), are really remarkable people. They committed to talk, pray, search for other housing, all so we could move into their house. I just really can’t explain how incredibly humbled this makes us feel. To know that they love us and care about us so much that they were willing to do this, it is simply amazing to me. In actuality, we were probably a couple years ahead of them as far as moving, but as our need was there, they said yes, and so we have a home!

We are so, so thankful and just in awe of the whole thing. We are hopeful that we will be moving late this summer (August-ish). God’s timing is amazing. You hear people say that and it’s pretty easy to say “yeah, yeah, heard it before. Easy for you to say but what about my circumstance.” I can say this; I hear you. This winter was not easy. There were lots of moments when I wondered what was going on. I wondered about timing. Kev and I talked at length about scenarios related to our current rental house, building and buying. It was really hard at times. But today, I am in amazement as I think about all that has occurred in a mere 6 months. In the midst of this, Kev’s Grandpa passed away suddenly and unexpectedly. I am so thankful for God’s timing as family was able to be with him in the short week of his health decline and passing. The Hodel family was able to come together and not be stressed over details related to an impending move had it happened on my timeframe. Instead, we were all able to enjoy our time together celebrating an amazing man and heritage. We are just so thankful for this time with the Hodel family!

I don’t know that I will ever fully understand why we had to lose a home we loved to a tornado. I do know that what we have learned about patience, trusting God, leaning into your family and church family, service, friendship, and God’ faithfulness, is invaluable. I didn’t ever think that being on the wrong end of a tornado was an indictment from God that we loved our house and stuff too much, but I think He has gotten our attention in learning about things that cannot have a monetary value. We continue to be humbled by the care and concern we have been shown by many, strangers and those close to us, old friends and new friends. Thank you again for your support and we can’t wait to have you come over!

2014-05-05 11.58.15
A precious moment indeed!

2014-05-11 09.30.44-1
Mother’s Day picture fail!

2014-05-06 16.57.40-1
This one is cuter anyway!

2014-05-06 19.11.28
We are almost there!